Yashica Electro 35 GT – review

Yashica Electro 35 GT

I can’t believe the month of shooting with this rangefinder has come to an end.  It was a fun month of shooting, easy, but fun since the GT is an aperture priority camera.  I’m a big fan of shooting with minimum depth of field but typically with a 35mm SLR camera not a rangefinder.  It was a little harder shooting (trusting my focus) at f/1.7 or f/2 with the Yashica rangefinder.  I put 3 rolls of film through the GT this month, 36exp, 24exp & 32exp.  The first roll was Arista EDU Ultra 400 36exp.  The second roll was an old roll of Kodak 400 24exp and The last roll was bulk rolled Arista EDU Ultra 400, that’s why it was only 32 exposures.

The Yashica Electro 35 GT was released in 1969 with a full black body paint instead of the satin chrome finish like the other Yashica Electro 35’s in the series.
At the time of this post, I have not processed any of the film I shot. I will follow up with a selection of images from each of the 3 rolls.

Yashica Electro 35 GT 1

Clean travel case with strap.

Yashica Electro 35 GT 2

Yashica Electro 35 GT 5

ISO/ASA selector slow & over shutter speed indicator shutter lock

Yashica Electro 35 GT 4

Yashinon-DX 45mm lens f1.7 – f/16 with minimum focus distance at 2.6 ft

Yashica Electro 35 GT 3

Aperture priority f/1.7 – f/16 mechanical self-timer

Yashica Electro 35 GT 7

Battery Check indicator (5.6 volt, currently using a DIY built battery)

Yashica Electro 35 GT 6

Film wind up real  & hot shoe

As a reminder … #12cameras12months is the project I’m currently working on where I I’ve selected 12 cameras from my collection and I shoot with 1 camera every day for a month. I’ve not done so well with my reviews or follow ups … but I have been consistent in shooting every day with my cameras in the project. It has been fun & challenging … shooting with film is always fun! I’m super excited to announce the camera I’ll be shooting in April. April will be fun! Check my Instagram for the reveal!

Leave a Reply

