February / Yashica D – 12 Months 12 Cameras

The Yashica D is a medium square (2 ¼ x 2 ¼) format, film TLR (twin lens Reflex) camera manufactured in the 1970’s. I don’t want to bore you with the details & the in’s & out’s of the camera. A great source to find details about the camera is: http://camerapedia.wikia.com/wiki/Yashica-D & you check out a Yashica D manual here: http://www.cameramanuals.org/yashica_pdf/yashica_d.pdf

It’s been a fun month shooting with the Yashica D. I shot 3 rolls of film but have yet to process any of the rolls from this month. The camera & leather case is in excellent condition! The camera is fairly easy to use if you know your way around a camera but there is a little learning curve on a TLR. I don’t shoot with TLR’s regularly so the first thing I had to remember every time I wanted to take a picture was to advance the film or else I would double expose the image … and that happened a few times at the beginning.

You cannot be in a hurry when taking pictures with a Yashica TLR because you have to focus through the waist level finder and the image is inverted, so that takes some getting used to. There is not a meter in the Yashica D, so I had two methods of metering, one was to use the meter APP on my iPhone or two, take a picture on my Nikon D4 and transfer the shutter speed and aperture on the Yashica.

I very much enjoyed carrying the camera around and finding the one shot I wanted to take each day as part of my 12 cameras 12 months project. This is a camera I will continue to go back to because (even though I have not processed the film from this month) I know this camera gives quality results!

Leave a Reply

