A Tribute to Edwin Land the inventor of Polaroid

A Tribute to Edwin Land the inventor of Polaroid

It was Edwin Land’s birthday on Monday May 7th, he would have been 105 yrs old.

I’ve been shooting professionally for nearly 27 years and I’ve been shooting Polaroid film since before that. It started when I was in photography school at Ohio Institute of Photography in 1985. Time flies when you’re having fun. I’ve been blessed. I’ve held two photography positions in my career. After OIP, I worked at Image Source Inc. in Evansville IN. for 4 yrs and the rest of my career I’ve been at Cedarville University as the university photographer. Enough about me …

Polaroid film has played a creative part in my life as a photographer. Back at the beginning, Polaroids (typically Polaroid Type 64 4×5) were used as test shots in the studio instead of shooting & processing 4×5 slide film. We would test our shots for lighting and positioning … it was cheap. I would always say that Polaroid was like water. NOT TODAY!

Gene Rogier was a boss of mine at Image Source & I remember him creating a Polaroid transfer for the first time in around 1989 and I was hooked! I’ve been shooting and creating Polaroid transfers & emulsion lifts ever since.

I’ve had the opportunity to give workshops and teach an Independent Study on Polaroid transfers & emulsion lifts.

I’m sad that Polaroid film has gone away, it is nearly impossible to get anymore at a reasonable price. I’m sad to see Fuji FP3000bw being discontinued. Over the last few years I’ve used Impossible Film since Polaroid has gone away. It’s a great 600 & Spectra camera film and I look forward to it getting bigger & better in the future.

I super excited to see what is in store for New55 and I can not wait until it is finally available the public. Time will tell.

~ Below is a very small collection of my Polaroid transfers & emulsion lifts, Polaroid Type 664, and Polaroid Type 65 P/N 4×5 images.

The first image (Project) is one of my first Polaroid images shot, and the last image (Anniversary Tulips) is to date my last Polaroid transfer created on April 17th, 2014.

4 responses to “A Tribute to Edwin Land the inventor of Polaroid

  1. Pingback: The Making of a Polaroid Image Transfer | Scott Huck's Blog

    • TODAY … I just got 2 packs of 669 (2004) & a box of Type 79! I tested one 69 and it is in perfect condition. I’m already in the process of getting some digital files converted to 35mm slides to make Polaroid Transfers in my DayLab. I. Can. Not. Wait!

Leave a Reply

