Mid-week Camera Review … Week 5 (a week late)

Summer Weekly Camera Challenge … week 5, the Crown Graphic 4×5 field camera

Manufactured By Graflex, INC. Rochester, New York

To the best of my knowledge and limited research, this Crown Graphic is a Pacemaker Speed Graphic built from 1947-1970.
For some further reading and detail on the Pacemaker Speed Graphic
http://www.graflex.org/speed-graphic/pacemaker-speed-graphic.html

Some basic details about this camera …
Serial Number – 989558
Wollensak / Graflex Optar 127mm lens.
shutter speed settings – T, B, 1, 2, 5, 10, 25, 50, 100, 200, 400
aperture settings – f/4.5, 5.6, 8, 11, 16, 22, 32

I’ve had this camera for many years now. I actually traded it for a studio Cambo monorail 4×5 camera I had. I rarely used the Cambo and I knew that I would use the Crown Graphic more since it was portable, lightweight and fairly easy to use. I take it off the shelf once or twice a year. I’ve had so much fun with this camera this week and I’ve been so happy with the results. I plan to keep it off the shelf, very close and have it in my camera arsenal.

You can’t be in a hurry when you use the crown graphic or any large format camera. On the Crown Graphic you have to have the shutter cocked to be able to open up the aperture to view the subject. After focusing on the subject, you have to close the aperture so that when you load the film and pull the dark slide you won’t expose the film.

What a beautifully built camera.

What a beautifully built camera.

A closeup view of the Graphlock back which accepts 4x5 sheets film holders & Polaroid 545 film holders.

A closeup view of the Graphlock back which accepts 4×5 sheets film holders & Polaroid 545 film holders.

Rear shade opened for viewing the image on the ground glass.

Rear shade opened for viewing the image on the ground glass.

crown graphic 4x5 details 011

Nice leather handle.

Nice leather handle.

crown graphic 4x5 details 004

crown graphic 4x5 details 006

Two steps to open the camera - 1. Press the covered button to release and open the rail.

Two steps to open the camera – 1. Press the covered button to release and open the rail.

2. Release the latch to pull out the lens & bellows on the rail.

2. Release the latch to pull out the lens & bellows on the rail.

Ready to shoot.

Ready to shoot.

Whats unbelievable to me is that the Crown Graphic was used by press & news photographers back in the day, I can’t wrap my head around that.

Here are a few of the images I shot …

Leave a Reply

