Mid-week Camera Review … Week 4 (a week late)

Summer Weekly Camera Challenge … week 4, the Lubitel 166B …

ND4_7466

Built from 1980 until 1989 in the LOMO (Leningrad Optical-Mechanical Union)factory in St. Petersburg Russia. It was built and marketed as an amateur TLR camera. It was the copy of the original 1949 Lubitel camera (literally meaning “amateur”.

It boasts a 75mm F4.5 lens (settings f/4.5, f/5.6, f/8, f/11, f/16, f/22)
And a minimal Shutter speed range of B, 1/15th, 1/30th, 1/60th, 1/125th, 1/250th

ND4_7468

ND4_7469

I am not impressed with the flipdown magnifying glass for detailed focusing (it may be more my camera than all Lubitel cameras). It did not have a cross section focus so made it a little difficult to focus & sat at an angle which made it hard to look through.

ND4_7474

A roll of 120 film allows you 12 6×6 square images. It has an independent shutter cock and film winding mechanism so after each shot, you need to advance the film to the next number in order NOT to get a double exposure. I forgot to do this a number of times … which may have given me some interesting shots.

ND4_7470

ND4_7472

ND4_7473

I had a Lubitel originally back 10 years ago but the shutter lens broke. Last year, I had a friend that went to the Ukraine. I asked him to keep an eye out for a Lubitel and to my amazement, he came back with 2. He found an original Lubitel (which I might shoot in my challenge later in the summer) and this Lubitel 166B. The old Lubitel still had film in it and I finished shooting and later processed the film which you can see below. The three images on the right are the images that were in the camera when I got it while the other images are what I shot. I suspect that several other images were ruined from being fogged. If there images could talk.

Leave a Reply

