Mid-week Camera Review … Week 3

Yashica Electro 35 GSN 35mm
The GSN model was one of the the most popular Electro 35’s made in Japan. It was made from 1971-77. It was built as a consumer camera, it
has an all metal body, it was designed as an aperture priority camera.

I really have enjoyed shooting with the camera, it has a nice clean square body with a large 45mm f/1.7 lens. It sports a standard
aperture sequence of f/1.7, 2, 2.8, 4, 5.6, 8, 11, 16.
I had a hard time letting (allowing) the camera control the exposure since I was only able to set the aperture. It was also hard setting the aperture to f/2 or 1.7 without “really” focusing the camera but using the rangefinder indicator. I guess I’ll see how it all worked out when I process the film. I know I’m done with the camera on Sunday (with this project) BUT I’m really considering saving a few exposures to shoot in the studio with the PC sync and seeing how that works.

Yashica Electro 35 01

Yashica Electro 35 02

Easy to load 35mm film.

Easy to load 35mm film.

There is a Slow & Over indicator light to assist in setting the aperture.

There is a Slow & Over indicator light to assist in setting the aperture.

Battery Check - and doubles as a flash light if needed.

Battery Check – and doubles as a flash light if needed.

ISO indicator & shutter lock.

ISO indicator & shutter lock.

It has a PC sync.

It has a PC sync.

Color - Yashinon DX 1:1.7 1 = 45mm

Color – Yashinon DX 1:1.7 1 = 45mm

Yashica Electro 35 06

Fantastic old school camera strap.

Fantastic old school camera strap.

With exception to shooting these images on a DSLR, I’ve not used my DSLR camera the whole week! I’ve been on vacation this week and it’s been very freeing just shooting with the Yashica analog camera … and my iPhone (of course). As I said at the start, I’ve really enjoyed shooting with this camera. I am excited to see what results I get from the camera.

A much more thorough detailed review can be found here: http://www.kenrockwell.com/yashica/electro-35.htm

4 responses to “Mid-week Camera Review … Week 3

    • Derek, true. I really enjoyed shooting with this camera. I plan to process the film tomorrow/Tuesday, can’t wait to view the results.

      I liked the rangefinder, it appeared pretty accurate from what I can tell judging from the distance. It was hard relying on the aperture priority. Also it was so hard not seeing an image on the back of the camera, it was so freeing … I took a picture and walked on!
      Take care.
      Scott

  1. “. It was also hard setting the aperture to f/2 or 1.7 without “really” focusing the camera but using the rangefinder indicator ” Rangefinder actually can be more accurate than manual focusing on SLR, just gotta get use to it.

Leave a Reply

