Mid-Week Camera Review … Week 1

Petri 2.8 Color Corrected super

The Petri 2.8 Color Corrected Super was manufactured by the
Kuribayashi Camera Industry Inc. of Japan for a 3-year period between
1958-61, total production exceeding 1,200,000.

Overview of the sleek Petri 2.8 Color Corrected super

Overview of the sleek Petri 2.8 Color Corrected super

Petri Orikkor 1:2.8 f = 4.5cm lens.

Petri Orikkor 1:2.8 f = 4.5cm lens.

Petri 2.8 3

View of the aperture & shutter speed dials on the lens.

View of the aperture & shutter speed dials on the lens.

The Petri is sleek, well balanced, and easy to hold. The aperture,
shutter speed & focusing knob are all in the same area of the lens for
easy adjusting. It has a standard aperture of f/2.8, 4, 5.6, 8, 11, 16, 22 &
a shutter speed of B, 1sec, 2, 5, 10, 25, 50, 100, 250, 1/500th.
The camera is basically a range finder, you do not look through the lens
and focus but rather judge the distance and move it to the correct
distance on the camera.

View of the top of the camera with exposure dial, ASA selector, shutter release & film advance.

View of the top of the camera with exposure dial, ASA selector, shutter release & film advance.

Side view of the latch to open the camera back, to load the film.

Side view of the latch to open the camera back, to load the film.

View of the back of the camera with viewfinder.

View of the back of the camera with viewfinder.

View of the front of the camera with the metal Petri lens cap.

View of the front of the camera with the metal Petri lens cap.

The camera comes with a stylish metal lens cap.
On several occasions I had to reshoot since I forgot to take off the lens cap.

I did notice that the shutter speed lagged a little on the slower
speeds so I made sure to use faster shutter speeds of 250 and 500.

The camera did not have a camera strap so I cheated and stole a nice
black leather strap off another camera. The leather strap looks real
nice on the camera, I plan on keeping the strap on the camera since it
looks like it belongs on the camera.

A manual of the camera I found online along with a vast assortment of old camera manuals.
http://www.cameramanuals.org/petri_pdf/petri_28.pdf

I plan to post a few images from the week of shooting but I need a
week or two to process the film and scan … Say tuned.

5 responses to “Mid-Week Camera Review … Week 1

    • Derek,
      I’m very interested in the results. I have a roll of 36exp in the camera & I’ve shot images several a day. I think I have roughly 12 images remaining & I’m shooting a wedding Sat. so I’ll have several opportunities to shoot at the wedding.

      I’ll try to process the film on Tuesday.

      Thanks for following!

      • Not a problem. Yeah i am always interested. Had several Petri 1.9 (the remaining one loaned to friend in SoCal) and a 7S (some chick has it now), they were both capable to produce some nice image, with the 1.9 (same with your 2.8 just different lens) they feel very good in my hands. However I never shot that one you got so very curious to see!

        Cheers.

Leave a Reply

