Annual Freshmen group shot

It’s that time again at Cedarville University when all the students come back and we welcome a new group of students. An estimated 850 freshmen students arrived this weekend during the traditional Getting Started Weekend including the annual freshmen group shot. This was my 19th year in shooting the freshmen group and I look forward to it every year. I’ve taken this group shot from a variety of locations over the years. The last two years I took the shot from the roof of the SSC with the freshmen students on plaza outside the SSC lower entrance around the clock.

This year the light was great, nearly perfect … the sun was behind the clouds avoiding any shadows and students squinting since the sun is just over my left shoulder at that time of day. This year was also a first … can you figure out why? Look closely …

Getting Started 2011

I went up a little early and set up my Canon G9 right alongside my camera & tripod. I created a time lapse of the group shot. I think it’s pretty cool aside from the dust in the camera from years of lugging it around in all kinds of elements.

MVI_1496

2 responses to “Annual Freshmen group shot

  1. What a great idea and photo! Hope all the kids can find themselves. God bless each of them as they begin their new lives at Cedarville University. Blessings,CSH:-)

Leave a Reply

